IONOPHORE is the recent project of multi-instrumentalists Leila Abdul-Rauf (VASTUM, HAMMERS OF MISFORTUNE, ex-AMBER ASYLUM, etc.), Jan Hendrich and Ryan Honaker. The Bay Area-based trio weave dark electronics and neoclassical soundscapes with heavy drones, seamlessly melding the orchestral strings of Honaker, the horns and voice of Abdul-Rauf, and Hendrich's electronic manipulations. The result is an entrancing sound all of their own, leaving the listener lost in a state of ethereal melancholy. Their self-produced and -released debut, Through Light Fractures, with the mastering magic of Myles Boisen (Angelo Badalamenti, John Zorn, Fred Frith) is available here as a pro-tape, limited to 50 copies. Includes a free download card.

Highest possible recommendation.

Cart Empty.